If I were to die

If I were to die today,

I wouldn’t miss the sun, the stars or the sky.

I wouldn’t miss the changes of the season or the cool breeze in my hair.

If I were to die today, I wouldn’t miss the pretty flowers, the smell of a distant log burner, or a cooked meal.

I wouldn’t miss the feeling of freedom of driving, the smile of strangers, the taste of an ice cold drink.

If I were to die today, I could be at peace with the earth. 

I wouldn’t have to maintain a facade, the pain would end, the dull grey would fade.

If I were to die today, I couldn’t miss the things I no longer enjoy.

If only, I were to die today.

One thought on “If I were to die

Leave a Reply

